California Connect|Regional Economic Alliances|Business Resources|Careers|Automotive|Energy/Environment|Travel|Entertainment
more sections: 
Featured Advertisement
Brief Cases and Other Corporate News

The Glendale Chamber of Commerce hosted its 2011 State of the City and Awards Luncheon at the Hilton Glendale.  They recognized notable City leaders and partners by honoring them with Achievement Awards for their outstanding contributions to the City of Glendale.  Morre Dean, President and CEO for Glendale Adventist Medical Center was awarded the CEO of the Year Award.  Shown here from the left:  Scott Akerley, President of Glen Oaks Escrow and former President of the Glendale Chamber of Commerce presenting the award to Morre Dean. In giving the award, Akerley highlighted Dean's insights, sincere leadership and dedication to the employees, physicians and volunteers of Glendale Adventist as well as to the Glendale community. This is Dean's fifth year as President and CEO of Glendale Adventist Medical Center, the largest of Adventist Health's "family" of 17 hospitals each focused on supporting the mission to 'share God's love with the community.'

Los Angeles’ Community Redevelopment Agency (CRA/LA) faces a great deal of uncertainty as lawmakers consider eliminating the job-creating groups across the state. CRA/LA CEO Christine Essel discussed the situation with VICA members this week at a Newsmaker Connection breakfast. The current state budget proposal would obliterate the revenue-generating agencies, leaving the fate of several ongoing projects in question. Many cities, including L.A., have scrambled to set aside funds for future projects. Essel told attendees that she and other city leaders are working hard to save CRA/LA and thanked VICA for its advocacy efforts on behalf of the agency. If the plan is passed by lawmakers, the CRAs will be able to fight the cuts in court. The event was presented by State Farm Insurance and co-sponsored by Los Angeles Valley College.  VICA Chair Daymond Rice (Vons), CRA/LA CEO Christine Essel and VICA Board Member Sue Carleo (Valley College)

The Pasadena Community Foundation is proud to announce the appointment of three new members to its Board of Directors.  They include left to right: Eddie Newman formerly with PUSD; Michael Schneickert, Managing Director of Private Wealth Management for UBS; and Judy Gain, Director, Global Treasury Operations for Avery Dennison Corporation.

Burbank Chamber of Commerce Installation of new Chairperson for coming fiscal year, Pictured from left, Gary Olson, President/CEO, Burbank Chamber; Mike Flad, Burbank City Manager and Tom Smith, Senior Vice President West Coast Real Estate, NBC Universal. Photo: "Bern" Agency/Andre' B. Murray


Journalist Peter Musurlian won five Golden Mikes at RTNA’s annual awards banquet in Universal City.  It is the first time in the 61-year history of the award that an individual has single-handedly won five Golden Mikes in TV categories, as a one-man band entrant. Musurlian produced, shot, wrote, and edited all of his winning entries.  Since 2002, Musurlian had won three Golden Mikes. His record-breaking evening now brings his career total to eight.  He has also garnered two Los Angeles Area Emmy nominations over the past decade, all for his work at The Burbank Channel (formerly known as BTV6), the Government Access Channel for the City of Burbank. The prestigious Golden Mike is awarded for excellence in broadcast news, by the RTNA, the Radio & Television Association of Southern California. (More information on the RTNA can be found at Musurlian’s 12-year-old program--Burbank Magazine--won for Best News Public Affairs Program in Division B, which is the division for TV stations with fewer than 50 employees.  Musurlian presented 1 of 5 awards from Chris Little, News Director for KFI-AM.                                                                                      

Earl Kluft to be honored by City of Hope Cancer Research and Treatment Center.Kluft, CEO of E.S. Kluft & Co., will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the City of Hope West Coast Golf and Tennis Tournament on June 6 at the Coto de Caza  Golf and Racquet Club in Orange County. Kluft, known for his lavish handmade mattresses, was tapped for the honor by his peers in City of Hope’s National Home Furnishings Industry group, a coalition of donors to the cancer research and treatment center. “We are honored to have Earl stand with City of Hope in the fight against cancer,” said Shannon Sullivan, director of development for City of Hope.  “His support will enable researchers to fast track promising, new therapies for a future without cancer."

William “Bill” Murphy assumed leadership at Foothill Vocational Opportunities on March 1, 2011 following long-time Executive Director Jim Hall’s retirement. Murphy comes to Foothill Vocational Opportunities with considerable experience in both the nonprofit and for-profit sectors.  Prior to being hired by Foothill Vocational Opportunities, Murphy worked for eight years as the Los Angeles County VP for PathPoint, a Santa Barbara-based nonprofit that shares Foothill Vocational Opportunities’ mission of helping individuals with disabilities reach their fullest potential through employment.  Pictured on left, Pasadena Mayor Bill Bogaard with new Foothill Vocational Opportunities, Inc. CEO William Murphy

Dr. Jeanette Mann, a member of the Pasadena Area Community College District Board of Trustees, was recently elected chair of the Community College League of California (CCLC) Board of Directors.  Mann, who represents Area 2, covering Northeast Pasadena, Northeast Altadena and Sierra Madre, served as president of the PACCD Board of Trustees in 2008 and has been a member of the board since 1983. She also served as director of diversity programs for California State University, Northridge before retiring..  For information, please contact the CCLC at (916) 444-8641.

 Soroptimist International of the Verdugos (SITV) Annual Program Awards and Live Your Dream Campaign was recently held. This year’s “RUBY AWARD” – recipient was Dr. Frieda Jordan, President, Armenian Bone Marrow Donor Registry (ABMDR). The Soroptimist RUBY AWARD was named after the first Soroptimist Federation President Ruby Lee Minar. The “WOMEN’S OPPORTUNITY AWARDS (WOA)” – recipients are Roxanne Perez (winner) and Ana Ramirez (runner-up). The Violet Richardson Awards, was presented to Melissa Hu (Winner), Emily Cardinas and Ani Misirian, both runners up. Pictured from left are: GEM Edith M. Fuentes, 2010-2011 Awards Chair, Camino Real Region Past Governor, Immediate Past President of SI The Verdugos and Past President of SIG; Dr. Frieda Jordan, and GEM Sandra Schultz, Camino Real Region Past Governor and Past President of Soroptimist International of Glendale (SIG)